brockton mayor elected as bruce county warden scaled

Brockton Mayor elected as Bruce County Warden

Bruce County has a new Warden. 

At the inaugural Bruce County Council meeting held Thursday, county councillors voted to elect Brockton Mayor Chris Peabody as Warden for the 2022-23 term. 

This is Peabody’s first term as County Warden. He was first elected to municipal council in Brockton in 2000, served five terms as councillor, was elected mayor in 2018, and was acclaimed as mayor in 2022.

“It is an honour to carry the responsibilities of Warden for the upcoming year, and a privilege to continue serving the residents and businesses of Bruce County,” Peabody said. “County Council will work together to successfully continue and enhance the services, programs, and initiatives of this upper-tier municipality. We will strive to keep our region safe, protect our most vulnerable, and help our economy flourish. I look forward to delivering on our goals to provide community safety initiatives, affordable housing, quality infrastructure, and fiscal responsibility.”

It’s the Warden’s duty to chair County Council meetings, represent Bruce County at official functions, act as an official spokesperson, and more.

Bruce County Councillors, the locally-elected Mayors of the eight municipalities in the County, were sworn into their new roles on Bruce County Council by Tammy Grove-McClement, Solicitor for the County of Bruce.

2022-2026 Bruce County Council:

Chris Peabody – Municipality of Brockton

Don Murray – Township of Huron-Kinloss

Garry Michi – Town of South Bruce Peninsula

Kenneth Craig – Municipality of Kincardine

Luke Charbonneau – Town of Saugeen Shores

Mark Goetz – Municipality of South Bruce

Milt McIver – Municipality of Northern Bruce Peninsula 

Steve Hamell – Municipality of Arran-Elderslie

Read Full Story

Similar Posts